Islam was ruling

BismillahirRahmanirRahim

Sheykh Shamil, the Lion of the Mountains. Not lion that is the donkey kind. No. The one with authority who was taking it from the Divine Presence and using it. When they martyred the one who was before him fighting against the Russians, they all came and they said, “O Imam, We are choosing you to be our Imam and our leader to continue this fight.” He said to them, “Choose somebody else. Don’t choose me.” They said, “You are the one who best fits to this.”

He said, “Maybe, but you don’t fit to the kind of orders that I am going to give to you. You don’t fit to those criteria.” They said, “Ya Imam, we are going to give bayat to you and until we die we are not going to change.” When all those leaders came, he said to them, “Are you all sincere with your promise?” They said, “Yes.” He said, “Then I am going to tell you what I need, what I want and after that you come and give me bayat under these conditions. If you give me bayat and later you change it then know that you will become my worst enemy and I will put you into the book of betrayers. It doesn’t matter then in which level of station you reach in Islam.” They said, “Ya Imam, we accept it.”

Then he said to them, “In this fight that is going on with Russia for so many years, we are not fighting for land and we are not fighting to provide a better lifestyle for ourselves. We are fighting for the sake of Islam and because of that we are never going to sit down and be comfortable until we have our freedom from the hands of the unbelievers.” They said, “Ya Imam, is this the condition that you are putting on us?” He said, “Yes.” They said, “This is what we are here for, this is why we are running to you.”

He said, “No. My tactic is different than the other ones. With what I am going to use against the Russians now, I am going to drive them crazy. And they are going to attack our villages. They are going to start killing our wives and our olderly people. They are going to destroy our villages and they are going to kill our children. We are going to move up to the mountains. Coming back we are going to protect whatever we can. If we cannot then we are going to move back up to the mountains. These villages are going to stay unprotected. Then when you are going to see that you are losing so many things, don’t come to me to change this. Then I will put you in the book as betrayers. Are you accepting this?”

They said, “We accept.” He said, “Then give bayat.” They all gave bayat. Sometime later when Sheykh Shamil started with his tactics, taking the secrets from the Awliya Allah and hitting left and right, the Russians were going crazy. Whatever he said was happening. They were hitting the villages now saying, “This way we may make them to become weak. Kill their children, their wives, this and that, and this way they may come down and ask for a peace treaty.” The Russians sent some envoys saying, “All you have to do is sit and make a peace treaty with us and we will stop from everything. We will help you. We will help you to build your nation again. You will be under our ruling. Nothing else.” Some of them started becoming weak right away. They wanted to change but they said, “This is what Imam Shamil said. We cannot change. What are we going to do?”

So Sheytan came to give them direction saying to them,” You don’t have to go to the Imam. Use your wives. Use your women. Send them to the Imam’s mother and the Imam’s mother is going to speak to him. So this way he will not know who is that one. Only the mother is going to say, `O my son, the Russians are asking this. Let’s make a peace treaty’, and he is not going to punish his own mother. So he will change.”

And that’s what happened. The women came saying, “O our mother, we would like to continue this but you know how it is happening. All our young generation is dying…” and endless stories. Weak. Allah (subhana wa ta’ala) created the women that way. Weak. Right away her heart couldn’t carry anything anymore and she came to her son saying, “My son, I have to speak to you about something very important.”

“What is it my mother?”

“About the matter of the Ummat.”

“Don’t you dare speak to me about the matter of religion and the politics that we are in.”

“My son, you must listen to me. So many people are suffering and this and that.”

He said, “My mother, they poisoned you. Hmm. They poisoned you but you are going to pay the price. Since you dared coming to ask me this you are going to pay the price.” And he said to them, “No one is going to do anything. I am entering into seclusion. When I come out then I am going to make the decision whether I will still be your Imam to see who is with me and who is not.”

He entered into seclusion and no one dared coming to say to him, “What are you doing?” Hmm. He sat in seclusion for three days and three nights not eating, not drinking, meditating twenty-four hours and finally he came out. All villagers circled around waiting what the Imam is going to say. He said, “I made my decision. My mother, although it’s not her fault so much and I know who came and poisoned her, but because she used that title being my mother and came to weaken my position, she will be punished with a hundred lashes according to the Shariat rule. And because she is my mother, I am going to intercede for her as the Imam. I am going to give her more pain than a hundred lashes.” He chose the strongest men among his people, giving them the lash saying, “I am taking the hundred on me for my mother. So now you are going to lash me a hundred times.”

Then he opened his back and said, “If I die, like Umar (radiyallahu anh) you are going to continue until the hundred is finished.” It’s because Umar (ra) did the same thing to his own son. Everyone said, “Oh Sheykh!” He said, “The ruling is given. My mother is going to watch from there me getting the lashes.”

He gave it to his men saying, “Hit it.”

When he hit once, he said, “It’s not like this.” He put it with mercy. So he said, “Like that.” He started hitting him, saying, “A hundred lashes to me like that.” And he got a hundred to himself. Then he got up and made another speech saying, “From now on if anybody attempts to do that again, it will be death penalty to those people.”

He won. He didn’t win the war maybe but he won his Akhirat. And all those people who
were with him sincerely won their Akhirat too. From that time until now those people who didn’t break the laws of Islam while they were fighting for that cause, they won. Those who deviated just a little bit saying, “Well, let’s put just a little bit of foolish thing in it. The Russians are doing this to us. So we have to do the same thing”, they lost. Islam was ruling. Now Islam is not ruling.

Holy Prophet (sws) is saying to us, “After me, the Khalifahs will come. After the Khalifahs, kings will come. After the kings, Sultans will come. After the Sultans the time of Jababirah, the tyranny time will come. Everywhere in the east, west, north and south and in every country the tyrants are going to rule. If you live in that time, try to run away from government works.” This is what Holy Prophet (sws) is ordering. “If you are living during that time, I only give you two advices. Speak the truth and be patient. You are not going to be able to change anything.” He said to this Sahabis, “A time will come to my nation that they are not going to be able to speak the truth and they are not going to be able to stop people from Munkar, from wrongdoings.”

So the Sahabis said, “Ya Rasulullah, what kind of believers are those people going to be?”

He said, “Worse is going to come to them. They are not going to be able to do that outside. Leave outside. They are not going to be able to do that inside, to their family members. They are not going to be able to say what is right and what is wrong. Nobody is going to listen. Everybody is going to rule as they like.”

The Sahabis were more surprised. Then Prophet (sws) closed the gap a little bit more. He said, “Worse is going to come to them. “What is it Ya Rasulullah?” the Sahabis asked.He said, “They are not going to be able to speak to their own children. They are not going to be able to change their wrongdoings and wrong things. Their hands are going to be tied by the governments. They are not going to be able to change and raise their children in the way of Islam. They are not going to be able to speak to their wives. Their wives are not going to listen to them. They are going to say, `Democracy’ and they are going to say, “Feminist rights’, `women’s rights.'”

All these Prophet (sws) is saying, They said, “Ya Rasulullah, what kind of believers are they going to be?” You know vinegar is very strong. If you put any kinds of worms in the vinegar it will die. It will not live in it. But vinegar has its own kinds of worms that will stay in that vinegar. It will live in that vinegar. He said, “Those of my nation in that time who are going to try to live a correct lifestyle are going to be like those worms inside the vinegar. They are going to live. And my salams to them.” He is saying from that time, “My salams and my blessings to those ones.”

– extract of sohbet by Sheykh Abd Kerim Effendi

This entry was posted in Sheykh Abd Kerim Effendi (2011). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Islam was ruling

  1. Pingback: الإسلام كان يحكم Islam was ruling | Sahibulsaif-Arabic&English lessons

Leave a Reply

