Is it permissible to have the names of Allah, the Prophet or Ayats written on canes? If it is, what do you recommend to be written?

BismillahirRahmanirRahim

Question: Is it permissible to have the names of Allah, the Prophet or Ayats written on canes? If it is, what do you recommend to be written?

Sahibulsaif

I will only say this: I am following our Sheykh and I have not seen him write anything on the canes or any ayats or things, so I’m not going to do it. Maybe other people are doing it, other sheykhs they are doing it, maybe. But we are following that one closely. If he is doing, we do and if he doesn’t do, even if we know other people are doing, we say, it’s not necessary.

Now, would I have reservation to that a cane has written the name of Allah or names of Prophet or ayats on it? I would, personally. Just because also I would have, say for example, reservations, I would think twice about having a ring that has ayats and the name of Allah or the name of the Prophet on that ring too. I know people are doing that. I’m not saying that it is wrong but I’m saying that it is too heavy for me to carry. It’s too heavy. People, I’m seeing, who do have that, and they are wearing the ring and they entering into all sorts of dirty areas, wrong areas. They are in malayani but they have the name, and all those things will be witness to us on the day of Judgement, isn’t it? What is the use, if you have a cane or a ring that has the name of Allah and the Prophet, have ayats, but that time you are sitting down, you are just being busy  with malayani? And Prophet (asws), openly he is saying,  ‘in any association, in any gathering, if you don’t mention the name of Allah, and you don’t give salawats to me,’ he said, ‘there is curse that is falling to that group. To that association.’

So it is heavy. Now you are going to carry the cane, where are you going to go? Where are you going to put? That one, you cannot even enter into dirty areas. You definitely cannot enter into a bathroom. Huh, you see muslims entering into the bathroom with the turbans on. Yeah. Ah that is when they look at everything as just normal, as just a piece of clothing. It is not.

So, these things, other people may do. You can do. As you like. But for me, I don’t  feel too comfortable doing it. I will just stick to canes. Regular ones. InsyaAllah.

SelamAleykum

Hoja Lokman Efendi Hz, Khalifah of Shaykh Abdulkerim el Kibrisi (qs) * OSMANLI DERGAHI- New York

March 27, 2015

7 Jamadilakhir 1436H

This entry was posted in Hoja Lokman Effendi (2015). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

