Tarikat is refining the subtlety of your intentions and your actions

BismillahirRahmanirRahim

Servant of Allah

You are doing something? First, you ask yourself, who are you doing it for? Whoever that you are doing it for, you want something to be better. You work, you are doing it for your boss, you are doing it for money, for pay, you are not doing it for anyone else. Who cares if somebody likes or he doesn’t like. The important point is whether you boss likes it or not.

So you are making a service. Who are you trying to please? Then how sincere are you? If you say it is our Sheykh that we want to please, just because we are doing something, doesn’t mean it is sincere, correct? We are saying, ‘okay, our Sheykh is the one we are trying to please.’ Meaning pleasing our Sheykh is pleasing our Prophet, pleasing our Prophet is pleasing Allah. Meaning you are trying to please Allah. So, now that is our claim, that is our intention, so now we must check our intentions and we must check our actions. Does the action fit into the intention now?

You are hungry and you are making an intention to eat, correct? Does that mean that you are going to eat anything that is in front of you? In front of you is a napkin, you are hungry and you eat this napkin? No. You say, ‘I’m hungry. So  now, I’m going to eat,’ and in front of you is, say, Mac Donald, you are going to eat the Mac Donald? In front of you is forbidden things to eat or to drink, you are going to eat that? Your intention is what? To eat, because you are hungry. Is that a good intention? Yes. Who can say to eat is a bad intention. But now you are doing the action. So now you have to look at the action of eating, does it fit into your intention or not? So now you are going to say, ‘I intend to eat,’ now you are going to go deeper, ‘I intend to eat what? What do I intend to eat?’ You go deeper than that, and say, ‘why do I want to eat?…why I want to eat?…when do I want to eat?….how much?….’ So many. Once you check back your intention, you start giving yourself so many questions. Those questions are the same kind of questions that is going to be asked on the Day of Judgment to us. Believe me. Same question. You are a wealthy man, how did you get your wealth? Why did you get your wealth? Who did you trade with? Everything is going to be asked, especially men, not women. We enter into that later, to understand the responsibility of a man. So now you have to check.

So you say, I intend to serve Sheykh Effendi. Now can you do whatever you want and call that service? You cannot. You say, ‘ I intend to serve Sheykh Effendi,’ but when it fits to your ego, you do something, when it fits to your ego you don’t do anything. Just like some people, they say, ‘we want to serve Sheykh Effendi. We want to clean the Mesjid,’ meaning we want to serve Allah. When it fits their go, they clean, when it fits their ego, they don’t clean. You cannot now tell me, ‘but my intention is pure. I want to clean.’ Did you check back your intention? What is the proof of that now? What is the dalil? What is the proof? You make a claim, your intention is a claim, isn’t it? So what is the proof now? Everything, there is a dalil, there is a proof. If you say you are a proof, there is a proof for that. If you say you are an Awliya, there is a proof for that. You are a Saliheen, there is a proof for that.

Everything has to have a proof. You are making the intention, you are going to do something, and you are saying you want to do something, what is the proof? You say you did it, what is the proof? This is what Tarikat is teaching. It is refining. You understand? Going into the latif, the lutuf, the subtlety of your intentions and your actions. Somebody is saying, ‘my intention is to clean, but ah, I’m too busy doing other things. But my intention is to clean.’ We say, very good. May Allah reward you. But you know how sincere you are. Because I have never seen someone they are so sick because they are starving themselves to death, they don’t eat. And I said, why are you not eating? They said, ‘but I made intention to eat. I’m just too busy, I don’t eat. But I made intention to eat.’  Or somebody is saying, ‘I make the intention,’ astarghfirullah we are saying, ‘I make the intention to go to the bathroom, but I have no time to go.’ You find time to eat. Meaning when it fits to the ego, there’s always time. Always time. Even if you have to get up in the middle of the night, you are going to do it, correct? To do whatever you want. So why now, to back up the claim that we make, to back up the intention that we make, the excuses coming out from every pocket? That is ego. The tricks and the traps of the ego. Coming out with thousands excuse and the ego, that insincerity, is the opposite of being sincere. You understand?

So now you are doing something, and say, you are doing something and you are doing something, and you are satisfied with it. Maybe not satisfied, but you are happy. How do you gauge then? How happy you are, how do you gauge? You do something, say, for Sheykh Effendi, how do you gauge something that you did is good or it’s not good,  how would you gauge? Right, how happy Sheykh Effendi is. How happy Sheykh Effendi is. Now we come to another very subtle point. If Sheykh Effendi is happy with us, if Prophet is happy with us, if Allah is happy with us, are we the kind of person that we have to see it? Because most are like that. In fact, there are so many Chrisitans who say, ‘if God is happy with you, He’s going to make you rich.’ So many Christians believe that the proof that God loves you and He is happy with you and if you are a good servant to God, is if you are rich. And they are going completely against Isa (as). Isa (as) did not even own any money. He didn’t touch money. And there are some Muslims who also believe that. You know the Muslims who dance? That one, dancing?  Same thing. They are saying, proof that Allah loves you and blessing you is when you have so much money. Completely against their Prophet.

The Prophet (asws), he had the whole world  and he gave it away. That is a difference. He did not keep it. He have and he gave. He have and he gave, and he gave until he had nothing. Not because Allah did not give him. Allah gave him everything. Allah is saying, ‘if you want, I’ll turn this mountain of Uhud into gold.’ Whatever that is in his house, he gave. So, we are coming back to this now. You are doing something to please your Sheykh. So what do you want from your Sheykh now?  What do you want? If we say we want our Sheykh to be please, then it’s about our Sheykh being pleased, it’s not about us, is it? Because so many, sometimes, the Sheykh will pat them and say, ‘masha’Allah, Aferin.’ Sometimes the Sheykh will not say nothing. Sometime the Sheykh will look another way. Sometimes the Sheykh sees you and start cursing at you, but you did everything right. That is according now to the station of the person in training and how the Sheykh is going to bring him. Majority, they cannot stand anything except for praise. They only want praise. You do something, ‘masha’Allah. Very good. Masha’Allah.’ Then they get very happy. It’s okay. That is normal. Everybody wants that. Yes. But that is at the level of children. You do good, we give you a candy. But not at the level of a man, not at the level of a friend of Allah. Because now, the proof that Allah is pleased with you, is not to see your Sheykh smiling at you or to be so happy and to praise you. No. There has to be a heart to heart connection now.  Because everything that the Sheykh does to you, it is to bring you higher station. The Sheykh loves everyone, he is closer to everyone than you think, but it is also not personal, to say, ‘I like this one, I’m going to….I don’t like this one…’ No. It’s not personal. The Sheykh wants everyone now, everyday to go to higher stations. Everyday to go to higher stations. The only way you can go to higher stations is if you are put to the test. And you pass that test and you go to higher station. Can anyone go to grade 1 to grade 2 to grade3 to higher grades without going through examinations or tests? No one can. Of course in today’s system, everyone is doing that. They go to higher grades without any test. But that doesn’t mean that Tarikat is like that.

So those who are still at the level of yes, the juvenile level, they just treat everyone like children. Just laugh, and smile and play. Just pat them. Praising them. Praising their ego 24 hours. Sheykhs are doing that. But when it comes to a little bit of training, they look at us and they say, ‘oh, this group they are extreme militaristic.’ I say who? Us?  These guys? That they sleep anytime they want? They are claiming that we are extreme militaristic, which when they sent those words out and anyone who knows English reads them, immediately extreme militaristic Islamic equals to what? Terrorism. So underneath they are making that claim, I want everyone to be aware of this. So I’m saying, who? We are? We have a long way to go. If they consider us extreme militaristic, imagine what they consider Sahabi e-Kiram. Definitely they are going to call them crazy, insane, out of Islam, ‘they are behaving like this? Out of Islam.’ These Sufi ones are going to say that, if they claim we are extreme militaristic. Allah. Allah. We, Alhamdulillah, under our Sheykh we have no delusion about that. We are nowhere near the dust that they step on. But, there is a standard. Our standard is them. And we want to reach to that standard someway somehow.

sahaba1

So you do your job. If you expect your Sheykh to praise you all the time, it’s not too good. That’s showing the level where you are. Sometimes the Sheykh is cursing at you, how are you going to take it now? The ones who have intelligence and faith, he’s going to say that is correct. I do this, but the Sheykh is saying this is wrong, not to put me down, but to bring me up. To say, next time when you do this, you are going to improve that part there and definitely your station is going to raise. But who has patience to think like that too in these days?

So you please your Sheykh? That time when you have that kind of idea, that kind of thinking, you are going to be just so busy trying to be not perfect, trying to do your job properly. You don’t care too much what other people think. You don’t care too much. You don’t care too much what other people think, whether they are praising you or they are putting you down. Someway, little bit maybe you get hurt if other people put you down. Don’t run with that feeling. Don’t get emotional. Understand? Maybe someone is going to say, ‘masha’Allah. This is very good that you are doing.’ Don’t get emotional and pat yourself on the back too. You just say, Alhamdulillah. Very good. This is what you are seeing but inside I’m knowing this, this, and this needs to be improved.’ Then you are going to be very busy with that. You understand? When you are very busy with that, and then, what happens now?  this fits. Because now you say, my intention is to do this. This is my result. Now, this is my proof. I’m showing my proof to my Sheykh and he’s saying, ‘well it’s no good. Because of this and this.’ I said, ‘okay, I’m going to check back with my intention, how to fix this, because of this.’ Then you are going to go back and fix. So it’s very dynamic. It keeps working. You are always putting something in. Then, that time, what happens? Your today becomes better than yesterday. Your tomorrow will be better, must be better than today. Because every day you want to do better. So it is not a formula, like so many people are saying, ‘oh if I do zikr for forty days, this is going to disappear…if I do this, this is going to disappear.’ Correct. It is correct. It is going to disappear for forty days. But doing it for forty days with what? With ghaflat? To do something for forty days? You can say, so many people are on diet these days, so many people want to. They say, ‘I’m on diet for forty days but I’m not losing any weight.’ Is it the diet’s fault? It’s your fault. You are not following it properly. Correct? You cannot blame that. you say, ‘oh, for forty days I don’t feel anger,  I don’t….’ but are you doing it sincerely?

Now, yes when you put yourself zero, Allah is Ahad, One, and you will be ten. What is the meaning now? How does that apply to us now? Go down to a level where you can understand and you can work with. Since we are talking about working and serving, doing something, so you are serving, but that work that you are doing, that service, is only one out of many many things that you can do, that you are doing. And that is many many things that is inside of you that you need to improve, correct? You are not only a person who serves, you are a brother, you are a father, you are a husband, you are a boss, you are a worker, you are a murid, you are a friend, correct? So many, to so many people, depending. Now you take one thing, the work that you are doing. The work that you are doing now, you are saying, ‘I want to do this work properly and I’m going to be just busy with this work. When I do it well, I feel happy doing this well, because I’m happy to present it to my Sheykh.’ When you are happy because you have done it sincerely, it doesn’t matter what other people say. Now I’m going to say something too, to a certain extend it doesn’t even matter what your Sheykh says. What do I mean by that? Because you are not looking for him to smile and to praise you. You know that you have done something well, following his orders, to do it and you are happy that you are just obedient. He says, ‘do this like this, like this, like this.’ And you are happy. You checked everything and you do it like this, like this, like this. And you are happy now.

So that time, you are not really looking for his approval either, what are you looking for now? For him to look. Maybe he’s going  to say, ‘now this part here, very good. But this part here, you have to improve.’ And you say, ‘huh, this is a chance for me now to make this to become better.’ That time even if he yells at you or something, you are not, you hear what is behind those words, what is behind the screaming. ‘Ohh, I didn’t realize this. How my ego can trick me like that. I didn’t understand this part. I didn’t see this part.’ So you start thinking, ‘why I didn’t see this part. Oh I was busy doing that.’ So you start working again. So he can speak with you nicely. He can scream at you. It doesn’t matter. Now he is seeing something that you are not seeing, to make you to rise to a higher station.

So when you do that, because you are going and you are presenting it, you are putting yourself as a zero for that work, and you are saying, you are submitting your work. You are submitting your work. This is the best that I can do, this is as much sincerity that I can do. And you are going to accept anything that comes. So you are making yourself to be zero. That time when you are making yourself to be zero, and you accept, and you accept whatever that he is going to say, he is going to be the one. Now that time, tell me if you remain zero, or you move up to a higher station. You move up to a higher station. It can be a work, it can be a zikr, it can be a housework, it can be a barn work, it can be politics, it can be cleaning the bathroom. Anything now. It is  all connected now.

So, yes. When you look to others, look to others that they are better than you. Look to others that they are better than you. Find reasons, and there’s plenty of reasons. I can sincerely say I believe that. Everyone is better than me, I believe that. And I have my reasons. I don’t have to tell what is the reasons. But that is not to make me to be humble, that is not to make you to think of… nothing, it is that because it is real, and if I’m using that, then I understand, I can make myself better and how can I look down on someone that way. I don’t look down on people. Your actions I may not like. But I don’t look down on you. Even your actions, I’ve been there before. When we saw Sheykh Effendi, we saw him as a Sheykh, correct? But when you saw me, I was trying to be a murid. So there is a lot of access there. There is a lot of easier to understand, easier for me to communicate. And if you still don’t understand, then that means your ego is huge now, standing in front.

If you are happy you do something, and you are satisfied with it, you are not going to be so concern about other people. You are not comparing yourself to other people, or your work with other people’s work. Especially when I said, you look at everyone and you say, ‘this one has this specialty, I don’t have this. This one has this secret. I don’t have this. This is good like this, I don’t have that.’ So yes, we are busy with ourselves, but when are you going to be busy with other people? When you see them doing something and it is going to affect you. How many people looking and thinking? Some people, the only time they think is when they enter into illusion and delusion world, making up conspiracies in their head, ‘ohh, this…and that…’ The wise man can see an old person walking and he’ll start crying. He sees an old person walking, especially if an old person coming here to the masjid, and that wise man is going to say to himself, ‘look, look at you donkey. Look at that person. An old clean person is worshipping Allah so sincerely. Look at you. What are you doing?’ He’s not going to look at the old person and say, ‘what is this dummy old person.’ He sees a little kid and he is going to say, ‘what is this little kid? He’s making a zikr so sincerely. When I was his age, I was not doing anything like that.’ Every opportunity, everything he sees, he’s going to find some good in that that he does not have. This is different. You are not beating yourself up and say, ‘ohh, I’m so bad one.’ No.  It’s real. That is real. And you are going to say, ‘okay.’

So you have all these things that you understand. It’s going to be a rein around your neck of your ego, to pull the ego back if the ego starts to claim something.

You see why it is so necessary, and it is so safe to have a Sheykh that is washing you up? When the Sheykh is always washing you up, how can you think that way too much? How can you think that way too much? You cannot. I have said this before, everyone is looking forward to Sheykh Effendi coming back. I’ll be shivering when he comes back. Because I have to give a report. I’m not going to give a report to say how much I have done. I have to give him a report to say how much I didn’t do. That is real. That is why on the Day of Judgment, yes, majority are going to be like that. May Allah not make us to be in that station. May Allah give us a station of safety here and Hereafter. But it only comes with sincerity. Do you understand sincerity? Sincerity means, ‘Ya Rabbi, this is as much as I can do. As you like. Sincerely, as You like. And I have checked my action, and I’ve checked my intention, and I’m working on it. I’m busy. I’m not being busy with whether people are praising me or they are cursing at me, whether I feel that I am high and they are low. No I’m not busy with that. I’m just busy with his work. This is as much as I can do.’

Like what a Saint said, ‘nobody considers himself a hypocrite, a munafiq, except a sincere person.’ Only a sincere person will think that he is a hypocrite. Because a sincere person, he is rooting out, taking out every insincerity. Looking, taking out, trying to get rid. If someone say something, although he may not like it, he will say, ‘yeah that’s true. I have to work on it. I have to take. I have to do something. I have to do something.’

This much is enough. Insya’Allah. Understand a little bit?  Am I answering your question or not? So if I say what kind of station you want to reach, why, I’m going to say somebody, I’m going to ask him why you want to reach to that station. Why you want to reach? ‘I want to reach to high station.’ What is high station to you? What is it mean? You sit on a high chair? That is high station? Then I’m going to say, why you want to go to that high station? Who says it is for you? Things to think about.

Alhamdulillah. What is our Sheykh teaching us? Nothing but to be servant to Allah. That is our station. To be servant. To serve Allah and to serve those ones whom Allah loves. Who Allah loves? Allah loves everyone. If we treat everyone like they are Khidr (as), and treat every night like it is Laylatul Qadr, we are not going to lose nothing. Like this or like that, maybe you are not going to say, ‘this one I know him to be like this. This one I know him to be like that. I grow up together.’ But you never know what had happened. You never know what’s going to happen. Right? So many that were amongst, not so many, some that were amongst us, praying so hard, worshiping so hard, making zikr so hard, they are no longer with us. There are some who look so sincere, they have such big dreams also but they betray the way of SahibulSaif. You are free. You can do whatever you want. At the end of the day, people live according to their ego. At the end of the day, people will leave because they don’t like, ‘because Hoja says this words to me.’ And, what can we do? You are welcome to stay, you are welcome to go. Everyone. You do your work, I have to do my work. May Allah forgive me and bless you. Insya’Allah. Al-Fatiha.

dunya1stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)

Sheykh Lokman Efendi Hz,
Khalifah of SahibulSaif Shaykh Abdulkerim el Kibrisi (qs),
OSMANLI DERGAHI- New York
15 Safar 1437
November 27, 2015
.

stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)

 

This entry was posted in Hoja Lokman Effendi (2015), Sheykh Abd Kerim Effendi (2012). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

