My family says that I follow tarikat blindly because I do not know the secrets of certain practices yet I still do them. Is this true? Should I stop?

BismillahirRahmanirRahim

Question: My family says that I follow tarikat blindly because I do not know the secrets of certain practices yet I still do them, like wearing different color turbans or ribbons. is it true that I am following blindly? Should I stop?

murid

Are you following something blindly that is good? Or you are following something blindly that is bad? If you are following something blindly that is good, follow. Don’t stop.

Since when we have to understand everything hundred percent first before we do something, since when? We follow everything blindly in life. You think when for example, your parents or whoever, if they step into a train or an airplane, do they go up to the pilot and say, ‘I’m not going to follow you blindly okay. I have to know exactly who are you, where did you study, who are all these people, how this plane go up in the air? I don’t understand, and you have to explain. Otherwise I’m going to be a blind passenger.’ Does anyone do that? No. People don’t even question when they enter into a cab. They just say, ‘it’s a cab here, take me there.’ How do you know that the cab driver is not going to take you somewhere else, to the zoo. Hmm?

They have so much faith when it comes to this dunya. But when it comes to ahiret, spirituality, certain things that they don’t like, they say , ‘no. you have to understand everything first.’ We are not those ones that they are fighting with Allah, not to understand but to argue before they do something. Allah say, ‘sacrifice.’

They say, ‘this? You mean this? Young or old this?

‘Not too young. Not too cold.’

‘Okay, this that is not too young and not too old, you want black or white, or reddish?’

‘Not too black, not too white, not too reddish.’

So it continues now, that kind of stubbornness and that kind of blindly following your ego. In the ayat of amana Rasul, it is a very important ayat. Allah is saying, ‘who is saying Sameena wa ata’ana?’ Who? The Prophets, they are saying. They Prophets are saying, Sami`nā Wa ‘Aţa`nā Ghufrānaka Rabbanā Wa ‘Ilayka Al-Maşīr – we hear and we obey the Prophet. So, if you are following the way of the Prophet, you will hear and you will obey. Through that obedience, understanding will come. Believe me. And when you obey, you don’t say, ‘I’m an obedient one.’ You say, ‘forgive me.’ You obey, not to call yourself an obedient one and to say, ‘because I obey, I get this and I get this and I get this, then I get this. You must reward me, because I obey.’ The prophets they say, ‘I obey, forgive me, because my return is to You.’ Rabbana wa illayka  al-Masir.

So, who do you want to be? You want to be a believer, or not? Am I saying, we must follow everything blindly? If you are thinking that way, then you are just trying to pick a fight. I don’t fight. But if you are intelligent, then you are going to know. Things like ribbons and turbans, we can give you the reasons for it. It’s very easy, anyway. If you don’t know the reason, if it’s something good, follow. It’s okay. This is called taqlid. When you imitate something good, you become good. Don’t imitate something that is bad. And taqlid, is it forbidden in Islam? Of course not. It is a very big part of Islam. You have to make a taqlid. But if one day you come back, you know from wearing like shalwar, which your parents probably will not like, but one day, you come and you wear all those skinny jeans, you know, the style today is very ugly. Skinny jeans, turning the man to become like woman, because no blood reaching nowhere. You come in, your parents are not going to say, ‘why are you wearing those skinny jeans? Why are you following them blindly?’ Your parents are going to say that? Is your Parents going to ask you, ‘so give me a reason why you are wearing that.’ and when you say, ‘I don’t know why.’ They are going to say, ‘take it off. You are following it blindly’? They are going to say. ‘it’s good,  very good, my Son. Wear as much as you want.’

This world has turn upside down. That’s okay, they can call us anything they want. Backward people, doesn’t matter. They said that to every saint. They said that to every Prophet. We are not saint, we are not prophets. We are trying to be sincere ones, following them. We are weak but if they say we are blind, we are following them, blind servile like the servant, like a slave we say that is very good. Because that’s exactly what so many saints they say, especially those western type Muslims people. They say, don’t follow blindly, don’t be a slave. We ask them, ‘oh you like rumi?’ ‘oh I love rumi. Rumi is awesome.’ I said, okay, what did Maulana rumi say? What did he say? ‘I am a slave to the Quran, and I’m the dust underneath Mustafa’, the chosen one. So, it’s okay. SelamAleykum.

stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)
Jumma Khutba by Sheykh Lokman Efendi Hz,
Khalifah of SahibulSaif Shaykh Abdulkerim el Kibrisi (qs),
OSMANLI DERGAHI- New York
15 Rabi al-Awwal 1437
December 24, 2015

stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)

This entry was posted in Hoja Lokman Effendi (2015), Questions and Answers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My family says that I follow tarikat blindly because I do not know the secrets of certain practices yet I still do them. Is this true? Should I stop?

  1. Pingback: عائلتي تقول أنني أتبع الطريقة بلا تفكير – لأنني لا أعرف الإسرار في الطريقة مثل تغير ألوان العمائم هل هذا صحيح هل علي أن لا أتبع الطريقة ؟ My

  2. Pingback: عائلتي تقول أنني أتبع الطريقة بلا تفكير – لأنني لا أعرف الإسرار في الطريقة مثل تغيير ألوان العمائم هل هذا صحيح هل علي أن لا أتبع الطريقة ؟

  3. Pingback: عائلتي تقول أنني أتبع الطريقة بلا تفكير – لأنني لا أعرف الإسرار في الطريقة مثل تغيير ألوان العمائم هل هذا صحيح هل علي أن لا أتبع الطريقة ؟

Leave a Reply

