“The strongest Imaan is the loyalty for Allah’s sake”

rose design

BismillahirRahmanirRahim  

 Alhamdulillah, Alhamdulillah, Alhamdulillahi Rabbil Alamin. Wasalatu wa salamu ala rasulina Muhammadin wa ala alihi wa sahbihi ajmain nahmadulllahu ta’ala wa nastaghfiruhu wa nashadu an-lailaha ilallahu wahdahu la sharika lah wa nashadu anna sayyidina Muhammadin abduhu wa habibuhu wa rasuluhu salallahu alayhi wa ala alihi wa azwajihi wa ashabihi wa atbaihi. Khulafail Rashidin mahdin min ba’di wuzerail immeti alal tahkik. Khususan minhum alal amidi khulafai rasulillahi ala tahqeeq. Umara il mu’mineen. Hazreti Abu Bakr wa Umar wa Uthman wa Ali. Wa ala Baqiyati wa Sahabai wa Tabieen. Ridwanallahu ta’ala alayhim ajmain. 

Ya Ayyuhal mu’minun al Hadirun, ittaqullaha Ta’ala wa ati’uh. Inna Allahua ma Allathina -Ttaqaw wa-Lathina Hum Muhsinun. Alhamdulillahi Rabbil Alameen. Wa Salatu wa Salamu ala Ashrafil Ambiya’i wa Imam al-Mursaleen, Sayyidina wa Mawlana Muhammadin wa ala alihi wa sahbihi ajmain.

All praises are due to Allah, Lord of the Universes. All praises are due to Allah Who is the First, the Last, the Manifest, the Hidden, the One who has Might and Power over all things. All praises are due to Allah who sent His Habib, Sayyidina Muhammad (asws), as the Seal of the Prophethood.  And may all peace and blessings be upon the Sultan of Creation, the Imam of the Messengers, the Master of the First and the Last, the Grandfather of Hasan and Husayn, the Intercessor of the Day of Judgment, Sayyidina wa Mawlana Muhammad (asws), and upon his noble family and blessed companions, especially upon the Four Khulafa-e-Rashideen, Hz. Abu Bakr el-Siddiq, Hz. Umar el-Faruq, Hz. Osman el-Ghani, and Hz. Ali el-Murtaza, and all those who follow them until the Last Day.

rose design (3)

Jumma Jamaat

Ya Ayyuhal Mu’minoon! O Believers! Welcome to you on this Holy Day of Jummah that Allah (swt) has bestowed upon the believers as a day of gathering and a day of celebration. O Believers! We are Ottomans. And we are the ones who in this Ahir Zaman are praying for the Return of the Ottomans. And insha’Allah, in a few days, we are reaching to the Urs of the Last Sultan, Ulu Hakan Sultan Abdul Hamid Han Cennet Makan. And in his honor, insha’Allah, let us start the Khutbah as it was read in his name during the blessed days of the Ottoman Empire. Ya Allah! Have Mercy on the Khalifas who have been on the Right Path, and the Imams who have been well-guided, who have ruled with righteousness and have worked for justice. Ya Allah! Aid and help Your servant and Your Khalifa, the Great Sultan, the Exalted Khaqan, the Shadow of Allah on Earth, the Master of the Kings of Arabia and the Ajam, Servant of the Two Sacred Houses. Because he is a Sultan, son of a Sultan, the Ghazi Sultan Abdul Hamid Han, son of the Ghazi Sultan Abdulmajid Han, son of the Ghazi Sultan Mahmud Han, may Allah cause his Khilafat to endure and to spread justice in his reign and cause righteousness and generosity to extend on the two worlds to the end of time and the end of ages, Amin!

Ya Rabbi! We are asking you to send your endless Rahmet upon the Hero of Islam, Sultan Abdulhamid Han, and to raise the Ottomans again to rule over this world as your Khalifah, and to count us amongst their servants in this life and next life, and to make us to be part of that work.

Ya Ayyuhal Mu’minoon! O Believers! Hz. Abdullah ibn Masud (ra) is narrating a Hadith, saying: The Holy Prophet (asws) said to me: Ya ‘Abdallah b. Mas’ud! I said three times: “Labaik.”  Here I am O Messenger of Allah. He said, “Do you know which bond of Imaan is the strongest?” I said, “Allah and His Messenger know best.” He said, “The strongest Imaan is the loyalty for Allah’s sake, by loving and hating for Allah’s sake.”

O Believers! What is the loyalty that Holy Prophet (asws) is speaking about? Hz. Suhaib el-Rumi (ra), one of the Great Sahabi, is giving us the answer. He is telling us about his life with the Holy Prophet (asws), saying, ‘I was present in every situation witnessed by the Prophet (asws). I was present at every pledge called by him. I was present in every detachment organized by him. The Prophet (asws) never took part in a raid, at the beginning of the period or the end, without my being on his right or on his left. Whenever the Muslims feared a danger facing them, I was there in the front, and whenever they feared it in the rear, I was there at the back.  I never let the Prophet (asws) stay in a position between me and the enemy until he (asws) returned to Allah.’

So that is the example of loyalty. There is another example of loyalty for us, especially for murids, to listen to. In India, there was one of the first Muslim Sultans, Sultan Mahmud Ghaznawi (may Allah be pleased with him), and his servant, Malik Ayaz. And when Ayaz was presented to the palace, he was a slave. And the person selling him said, this slave is worth a million dirhams. And when they asked, How can he be worth so much?, he said, ‘ because he knows the reality of servanthood.’ So Sultan Mahmud was so impressed with this answer that he bought Ayaz, and put him to a test. He ordered one of his guards to whip Ayaz with 100 lashes. And he ordered one of his Vizirs, that while this is going on, he should go to Ayaz and say, ‘Ask the Sultan, O Sultan, why are you whipping me when you know I have committed no crime.’ And each time Ayaz would reply, ‘The Sultan is my Master, and I am pleased with whatever comes from my My Master.’ Hearing this, Sultan Mahmud said, Indeed this Ayaz is worth more than one million dirhams, because he understands the reality of being a servant.

O Believers! This is the loyalty that the Sahaba-e-Kiram had to the Holy Prophet (aasws). This is the loyalty that the Murids had toward their Sheykh. This is the loyalty that the people had to the Sultan. But when this loyalty was lost, and when betrayal took over, that is when the Muslims lost everything. Our Sheykh, Sahib el-Sayf Sheykh Abdul Kerim el-Kibrisi el-Rabbani is telling us a story, saying that after the removal of the Khilafat, there was an old man in the Sultan Ahmet Masjid in Istanbul. And all the time he would be in the Masjid crying. So one man asked him,’ O Holy One, please tell me your story.’ And that old man said, ‘don’t make me tell you my story or my heart is going to stop.’ But he insisted and the old man said, ‘I used to be a general in the army of Sultan Abdulhamid Han. And during the hardest and worst time for the Empire, I asked permission to go home to take care of my family business. And the Sultan sent a letter back saying, the situation is very difficult right now, I cannot release you from your post.’

And Seyh Efendi is telling the incident that happened, saying: So he said, “I came to the Sultan. He was sitting on his table. He looked at me and he put his head down. He was not looking at me anymore.”

I said, `Your Majesty, I sent you a letter.’

And instantly he said to me very strongly, ‘I sent you the answer back.’

That one said, ‘Yes, that’s why I am here now to ask you because this is the excuse I have.’

The Sultan was shaking his head. He was not looking at me and I asked to be released again. So he just raised his head, looked at me so strongly and said, ‘So what can I do?’ He said to me, ‘What can I do? You are asking so much? Go away.’ He released him. Finished. The Sultan just waved his hand like that. In our tradition, if someone speaks to you and says, “Okay, go”, it means, “I am not happy with you anymore”, and they move the back of their hand to you. When they say, “Go with blessings”, it’s like this, with the palm of the hand towards you,that is good. But when it’s with the back of the hand, in proper manner it means, ” Go get lost.” He said, “That action just finished me. But what can I do? I cannot take that back anymore too, and so I came.”

But later that man started to understand what a huge mistake he had made. And he saw a dream. Seyh Efendi is explaining what happened, saying: The man said, “But one night I saw a dream. In the dream I saw the Ottoman Army. They were all in straight lines. All generals were in front of the army and Sultan Abdulhamid Han came and he was saluting them. And the Prophet (asws) was standing in front of him and he (the Sultan) was saying, “Ya Rasulullah, the army of Islam is ready. As you like. Give order. We do as you like.”

The old man said, “Everyone was seeing the Prophet (asws) except me. When I was looking from far I was seeing the Prophet (asws) like a moon, shining. But I couldn’t see the Prophet’s face. But the Sultan and all the army were seeing the Prophet (asws). And Prophet (asws) looked at the army from the beginning and he came to the end and the battalion, the group at the end was supposed to be under my authority. But I wasn’t there. So all the soldiers were very sloppy. They were not in order. The Prophet (asws) looked at the Sultan very strongly and said to the Sultan, `Ya Sultan! Where is the general of that group of people?”

And the Sultan put his head down saying, “Ya Rasulullah, that one he wanted early retirement. I didn’t want to send him to early retirement but he asked several times. So I couldn’t say ‘no’ to him anymore. So I sent him to retirement. I sent him away.”

The Prophet (asws) looked at him and said, “Ya Sultan! The one that you send away, we are also sending away from our association.”

He said, “After that day, I never slept at night. I am crying non-stop but I am not seeing any dreams. After that day I left everything. I left all the belongings to the people. Allah is sending my sustenance but I lost it. I didn’t see the Prophet (asws) and after that I have never seen any good dreams anymore.”

This is not a joke. This is real. Real-real, if you understand what that means you will cry a lot then. If you don’t understand then you are a donkey. What can we do? The way you live, that’s how you will die. The way you will die, that’s how you will be raised. This is Hadith Sherif. If you keep Allah priority then Allah keeps you priority. If you keep Allah second class then you just finished yourself. Allah is never second. If the whole world says, “We keep Allah second”, Allah is not second. Allah is First. It is a blessing for man just to understand (the favor of) Allah’s granting permission to man to praise Allah. As Sheykh Mevlana is saying, “Live for Allah. Live for Allah and die for Allah.” It is a blessing to you.

And Allah is asking then, “What does My servant want? Give it to him.” And when you say, “Ya Rabbi, I want, I want”, He says, “Whatever you want. When you are in My service I give you everything. You say that you love Me, I love you and I am yours too. I am in your service.” Allah is in our service. What service do we give to Allah? What do we do, huh? Just getting up and going up and down. Is that the service we give to Allah? Does that fit to His Majesty? He gives everything to us and we cannot give anything back. The only thing is just to keep His orders, to try to keep His orders. Then you are honoring yourself. Allah is granting you more honor all the time. Anyone who leaves Allah, who runs away from Allah, they are losing their honor in Dunya and they are losing their honor in Akhirat. This much is enough for you and for me.

servant of Allah

O Believers! Don’t make a mistake for one second to think we are better than that general. We have that same thing inside us. O Believers! Understand that just like Holy Prophet (asws) was checking on the Army of Sultan Abdulhamid Han, the same way he is checking on this Jamaat. Didn’t Seyh Efendi tell us, shortly before he was veiled from this world, that he received a message from Holy Prophet (asws) saying that the message for the people around him was: They should make Tawbah because you have some other job than the one that what you are doing. But they have to be very clean, the door is closing to them. O Believers! Our Holy Prophet (asws) is looking on us and he is checking us. Our Sheykh is looking on us and checking us. If we go out of the line, we may lose this life and we may lose next life. Loyalty, servanthood, obeying, submitting, having muhabbet, these are the principles that we should live by. And the only way to live these principles, the only way to make them real, is by submitting to our Guide.

Otherwise, it’s just illusion and delusion. We have to check ourselves- are we asking for early retirement? Are we looking for an excuse? Are we looking to leave the work and leave the mission? If we are, then understand that the door may close on us, and we may lose this life and next life. O Believers! We are near to the end. Do not lose the road when we have almost reached the destination. Amin.

stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)Jumma Khutba by Sheykh Lokman Efendi Hz,
Khalifah of SahibulSaif Shaykh Abdulkerim el Kibrisi (qs),
OSMANLI DERGAHI- New York
26  Rabiul Akhir 1437
February 5, 2016.stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)

This entry was posted in Jummah Khutbah, Sheykh Lokman Effendi (2016). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

