What am I suppose to think of when I make zikr of Allah just by repeating His name, “Allah?”

BismillahirRahmanirRahim

Question: Whenever I make Zikr by saying, “Allah Allah,” I can’t seem to focus on one particular thing or meaning, as it seems endless and too deep for me to contemplate upon. For example. when I say “Astaghfirullah,” I think of my sins and weakness or when I say, “Alhamdulillah,” I think of His blessings and favors, but what am I suppose to think when I remember Him just by repeating His Name, “Allah?”

Hoja live zikr.jpg

BismillahirRahmanirRahim.  Allah is everything. You cannot say now when you remember Allah, it is different from Astaghfirullah or Alhamdulillah. Allah is everything. In that is everything. You are making the Zikr of Allah, what is your reason, what is your purpose? We make it very simple. From that sure simplicity, from that foundation, then you can build on it as much as you want. And, what is that foundation that our Sheykh has taught us for years? He’s saying, “Be with Allah. Just be with Allah.” You can understand that, to just be with Allah?

You know what it means when you fall in love with someone. You know what it means just to be with that person. You know what it means when you’re not doing anything, you’re just being; you’re happy just sitting and looking; you’re happy. Now, to be with Allah, our Sheykh is saying, so many years I remember in 39th street especially (Manhattan Dergah), he’s saying, “Ya Rabbi, You are always with me. You are never leaving me, but I am always running away from You. I’m always leaving You. And, I’m here just to call on You, to call Your name and to be with You. I have nothing, I am no one, but I just want to be with You. That is enough.” From that, just to be with your Lord, because He is with you; not asking for anything, but “just to be with You.” That’s very simple but it’s also very difficult, because I remember when I was young, I told some of my friends, Non-Muslims:

I said,  ‘I’m going to go to prayer.’

‘Oh, you’re praying? What are you praying for?’

I said, ‘what do you mean, ‘what am I praying for?’ Just pray.’

‘Yeah, but what are you asking?’

I said, ‘why do you have to ask to pray?’

Because in Islam, Dua is something, supplication is something, and to pray in order to worship is something.

So, not to ask anything, but just to be. That’s what is the mercy and the beauty of Tarikat. If you meet a friend of Allah, you understand a little bit of what Taqwa is. You understand a little bit of what Allah is. Yes. Wahhabis are going to go crazy saying, ‘Oh, you meet a friend of Allah, they are saying he’s Allah.’ No. Prophet (AS) himself said, ‘There are certain men in the world, when you look at them, they will remind you of Allah.’ And, we have that experience with our Sheykh. We have that experience with those Mubarek ones. That, it is not them, but it is something; it is their Creator; it is their Sheykh; it is something bigger; it is our Prophet (AS). It is something bigger than that.

So, we understand now, just to be with them, we forget about everything. Just to sit with them, there is some lightness that happens to us, that our burdens are taken away. Just to sit with them, we feel that we are in a space inside of space, time inside of time. Just to be with a friend of Allah, we understand what living is, what life is; even if it’s for a split second. Even if it’s hours, or weeks, or years, we understand that. That gives us an idea of what it means to be with Allah just to be with Him.

So, that is enough for us at this point. We are not going to sink into the oceans of Allah. No; just to be with Him. Be simple. Don’t try to challenge Allah or show off your knowledge of Him to Him, please. Even in His presence, you cannot come with your knowledge of Him, because it is you. You’re still bringing your own existence in there. May Allah forgive me and Bless you. El-Fatiha. Selam Aleykum wa Rahmatullah. 

stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2) Sheykh Lokman Efendi Hz
Khalifah of SahibulSaif Shaykh Abdulkerim el Kibrisi (qs),
OSMANLI DERGAHI- New York
7 Rabiul Ahir 1438
January 5, 2017  stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)

This entry was posted in Questions and Answers, Sheykh Lokman Effendi (2016). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

