Without Passion, Your Ibadah Has No Meaning

BismillahirRahmanirRahim

With the support of our Sheykh, SahibulSaif Sheykh Abdul Kerim al Kibrisi ar Rabbani, Rabbaniyat, Rabbani, lordly one, Allah has stressed upon that, we are asking support from him, we are his Murids, to send us what is necessary for us to become better servants to Allah, not what is necessary for us to live in this world. We have enough advice and enough Rizq that Allah is sending that we should not be asking for that.

The sohbet is not the time to ask from the dunya. It is the time for us to understand our Rohaniyyat, what did we come, this week, with? Don’t tell me you come same. Every day it is different. You know how you want to eat every day different things, hmm? You want to eat, for breakfast, one day, you say, ‘um, I want to eat Turkish breakfast,’ the next day you say, ‘I want to eat American breakfast; Turkish breakfast again is not too good.’ Then later lunch, then later dinner, you are always changing, having an, what? Appetite, correct? How do we build that appetite? Sometimes, you don’t have appetite, but you start thinking about it, you start watching something, your appetite grow, MashaAllah. Correct? So, the appetite is built. How are you going to build an appetite for sohbet and zikr? If the whole week you’re just trying, trying to just push sohbet and zikr, ‘oh, it’s coming, oh, it’s coming, oh, another time I’m going to get washed up…’ and you’re not building up an appetite, you’re not reading, you’re not thinking, which, alhamdulillah, in the Dergah every day we have the silent zikr, I’m there or I’m not there. Every night, we’re reading the sohbet, Sheykh Mevlana’s sohbet, Sheykh Effendi’s sohbet. We sit and we talk, we think.

But if you’re not building up an appetite, then what are you going to come with? Correct? If you don’t have an appetite to eat, they put the best food in front of you, you think you’re going to eat? No, you’re not going to eat. In fact you know, ‘oh, I’m going to eat nice. I’m going to stay hungry a little bit so I can eat with more appetite.’ You know you do that. So what are we doing? I’m picking very, very simple, very easy example, but this is true and it is direct to you, to make you understand. How do we build this appetite for the zikr and for the sohbet? Zikr and sohbet is supposed to come, questions that you’ve been that you’ve been thinking about whole week, trying to figure something out, that is the time your ears must be open like this, like a satellite, trying to pick up because you’ve been asking through your heart to your Sheykh the whole week. And you all know, especially if you come here, in the beginning, you have question, sohbet always gives answers. Correct or no? So you stop asking questions. It stopped getting interesting for you.

You start to lose an appetite because you’re so spoiled. You’re getting it all the time. That’s why you’re not coming and you’re not making too much progress. You have to understand, ‘I’m trying to figure out something that happened to me. I’m trying to figure out something that I’ve read that is happening around this world. I’m trying to figure out what I know from history. I’m trying to figure out my own history.’ But, oh, when I ask you individually, do you have problem, everyone has problems and issues. ‘Oh, my health, oh, my father, oh my daughter, oh, my son, oh, my job. Oh, stress, oh this…’ everyone has issues. But you are not making the connection. So if you’re not coming for the sohbet, trying to look for an answer and understanding that the answer is given through the sohbet, you can sit in sohbet for one thousand nights, you’re not going to get anything. Just like the man who has no appetite. Not only he’s not going to eat, the best food that is in front of him, he’s going to get what? After a while, he’s going to get disgusted with the food.

It’s okay, we’re not asking, others are asking and I’m saying. But this is for you and it is for me. This is to benefit you because I’m seeing, why Sheykh Effendi sometimes, not sometimes, many times he’s saying, you don’t want sohbet, you don’t listen to sohbet, I’m going to go to cemetery and I’m going to give sohbet. They listen very well because they’re in trouble. No only they’re listening very well, but they’re asking him, ‘what do we do now? We’re in trouble, in the grave. What do we do now? Oh, friend of Allah, help us.’ And they understand. And Sheykh Effendi will speak to them, to make them understand, because if you don’t understand, you’re not going to get it. You’re not going to get the full knowledge, the full experience, the full barakat, the full forgiveness, you’re not going to get it because you don’t understand. But Sheykh Effendi says that time, they understand well because they have no other distraction. They understand, here I am, alone in my grave. No one is here with me to help me, I’m looking to my good deeds, it’s not enough.

So this is for you and this is for me. If there is no passion, it has no meaning. You pray, it has no passion, it has no meaning. You’re just doing something as a repetition, but there is no connection. Robots, do you understand? Robots. Allah doesn’t want robots. Sheykh Effendi, he doesn’t like robots. One of the worst things he will say to Murids is ‘why are you being like a robot?’ you’re not thinking and you’re not feeling. So, alhamdulillah, Allah swt has given us life, this is the last zikr and sohbet of this month, Jamadil Ahir, and next week, insya’Allah, if Allah gives us life, we’re going to enter into the Holy Month of Rajab Shahrullah. The Month of Allah. Allah Allah. What an honor He has given to the Ummati Muhammad (asws), that He’s saying, ‘enjoy this. I have identified this month as My Month. Enjoy it, oh the Nation of My Most Beloved One.’ And if Allah gives us life, we are going to meet, same time, same channel, for the Night of Raghaib, one of the most Holiest Nights in Islam. How our hearts must be jumping, must be opening, must be longing. Why it’s not? Because you’re not working up the appetite.

The Night of Raghaib, then what are we going to do to prepare for that? If you know that you are invited by the governor to attend a dinner, knowing it not going to be not only you and the governor, but there is going to be so many important people that are there. You are going to make friends, it’s going to be so easy for you later, to move your things, to do things. You’re going to prepare. You’re going to get excited. You’re going to say, ‘I’m going to wear this, I’m going to buy this, I’m going to do this,’ you’re going to brag to all your friends. Oh, you know?

Raghaib is coming. How we are working up the passion for it? Especially in Islam, the Holy Days and the Holy Nights, yes, it is a time of great rejoicing in the Mercy of Allah. That even in those times it is very heavy for us because we are so full of mistakes, and wrong things and wrong actions, but we are happy and we are rejoicing because of Allah swt’s Mercy that He’s saying it is coming down in these Nights, never before you have seen that kind of Mercy coming, never you will see. Can you imagine a Lord like that, that He cannot wait to forgive you? He cannot wait to forgive you. He says, ‘come to Me. Even if you come to Me with your wrong deeds as much as the sands on the shore, as much as water in the oceans, compared to My Sifat, the characteristic of Forgiveness and Compassion and Mercy, I will wash everything clean.’

Maybe when we have so many of our problems, that’s why we’re not connecting this and this and this together. That we look to these nights to say, ‘ya Rabbi, I’m really stuck in this. Please help me.’  Either stuck with the dunya or stuck with things that you’re trying to become better in but you cannot, stuck with bad habits, and you say, ‘please, help me.’ To run. Or if your heart is dead, or if you’re a robot. But all these things they are going to come, all this passion is going to come, all these thinking is going to come because you have been working up a passion, because you’ve been working up, thinking about it. It’s not just coming to you like a robot, ‘oh, it’s tomorrow, okay. What do I do? Ah, I’m going to do some zikr and more reading.’ But you’re not making any thinking, any passion, because passion, it is beyond thinking. That passion, it is something that comes straight from the heart. You bypass this. It doesn’t mean you don’t become intelligent, you are intelligent, but you don’t have to put one, two, three, four, five, six together. It just comes.

We should work for this. We should stop and we should think and we should understand, like what I said earlier, when we wake up every day, we want to eat and we’re looking for, so many times, with so much passion we’re looking to eat. You’re sleeping and you wake up, and you really don’t want to wake up, but you want to wake up and… Most of you start thinking, ‘what am I going to eat?’ that is making you to wake up. Meaning, you don’t have the passion for food, you work it up. You don’t have any appetite, you see something, you hear something, someone describing it, immediately the appetite comes. And the passion is like that appetite. If you’re not working on it, then that time you can be in the presence of the forty Abdals, you’re not going to feel nothing because you’re not longing for them. You’re not longing for Holiness. You’re not longing for the mercy that is coming. You’re not longing for it. It becomes just a robotic action. Then you’re just going to waste your time.

May Allah not make us to waste any of our time, insya’Allah. This is for me, first. This is for me and this is for anyone who is listening. You can take it if you want, or if you say, ‘these words, they are not for me,’ leave it, I will take it. I need it. SahibulSaif had said this thousands of times, I will continue to say it until I die, insya’Allah. If you want to say it with me, welcome. May Allah forgive me. May Allah bless you, insya’Allah. May Allah raise the station of our Sheykh, make us to be more awake for his service. We cannot wait for his return, we are happy with everything that he has given us, we are not happy with ourselves, we wish to make it better, and we are asking him to have sincere ones around us, insya’Allah ar-Rahman, and may we be one of those sincere ones. Wa min Allahu Taufiq, bi hurmatil habib, bi hurmatil Fatiha.

stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2) Sheykh Lokman Efendi Hz
Khalifah of SahibulSaif Shaykh Abdulkerim el Kibrisi (qs),
OSMANLI DERGAHI- New York
24 Jamadial Ahir 1438
March 23, 2017 
stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)

This entry was posted in Sheykh Lokman Effendi (2017). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

