Leylatul Bera’at: Ask From Allah Through the Ones He Loves

BismillahirRahmanirRahim

Question from a murid : Sheykh Effendi has taught us that our maqam is in the toilet. Now, in a Holy Night like this, how are we going to ask from Allah?

Destur, Medet Ya SahibulSaif. Nawaitul arbain, Nawaitul khalwa, nawaitul uzla, nawaitu suluk, Hasbinallah Ve Nimel Vekil. Medet ya SahibulSaif.

Baraat (2)

Tarikatuna Sohbet fil khayri min jamiya. Our Tarikat, our way, continues with association. There is your answer right there. Understand? Wa minallahu taufiq, al Fatiha. (Sheykh laughs). Maybe I should unpack it a little bit more. Those who are listening, you know what the question and you know what the answer is.

We had a question. I said if I have the answer, I will give. In reality I don’t have the answer, our Sheykh has it. I’m asking support from him to send us something that is going to give us benefit, not to be busy with things or with people or with associations or other things that doesn’t give us benefit. In a Holy Night like this every man should look to himself, be busy with himself. Don’t start judging other people. Now, our brother, I remember the first time he came to 39th street. He came, he was very strong like that, listening to Sheykh Effendi, ah, like he’s never seen a Sheykh before and never heard that kind of wisdom coming, like he was so dry and whatever that he was giving he was just soaking it up and becoming alive.

All of us felt that way the first time we met our Sheykh. Our hearts that were dried up are starting to become alive. And he is taking and he’s giving to us. He’s not taking from us. He has big love for Sheykh Effendi from that day, and he’s continuing. And our Sheykh has a very big love for him because our Sheykh, Evliyaullah they don’t have small, dried-up hearts like the way we do. Their hearts are huge. They have a space there for every person in this world. Our hearts are dried-up. Hz Ali (kw) is saying ‘if that one teaches you one thing, one thing, you are his slave for forty years.’ Oh, these days, they can talk so much, claiming so much coming from Shah i-Mardan, but when it comes to that, they forget and they throw everything away to those who have help. May Allah not make us to be those ones who are going to be ungrateful, because Allah swt is saying ‘don’t come into My Presence with these two sins; shirk and taking the rights of others.’ And shirk, Allah if He wants He can forgive. But He says ‘I will not forgive you when you take the rights of others until those ones they have forgiven, until you have asked those ones for forgiveness and have forgiven.’

So, he just asked me a question. I want to say all of that because when we are following our Sheykh, the heart is moved. The passion is there. It cannot die out. It cannot. Because once the heart is connected you cannot even control the passion. It’s coming from him. We think we are making our own passion, it’s coming from him. More you polish, more the reflection is going to come. But the reflection is not coming from you, it’s coming from him. Because he’s saying, Sheykh Effendi has taught all of us, you and me that yes, our maqam is in the toilet. Now, in a Holy Night like this, how are we going to ask from Allah? And Allah is asking us to ask Him. The gates of Paradise is opening, the gates of hell closing for us and He’s saying ‘ask.’ How are we going to ask? That question is very intelligent. And that is showing that the heart is working a little bit, because many people are going to say, ‘what do you mean, how to ask? Just ask. Open your hands and ask.’ But that is showing that the person is understanding.

As with everything, there is a protocol of asking and there is a subtlety of asking, and there is a way of asking that is going to be direct and there is a way of asking that is never going to reach. So I said I’ll answer his question. And I said ‘this Tarikat, it is based on association and goodness comes from association.’ And I said ‘that is your answer,’ and he accepts, he understood right away. Understand who you want to be associated with, because in reality, man is not alone, only Allah is alone. If you are not going to associate with good people, you are going to have bad people around you. If you say ‘I’m not going to associate with no one,’ you have your ego with you, you have your four enemies with you, they never leave you alone. You are never alone, only Allah is alone. But you have the choice now to choose who your companions are going to be. Which Hz Ali (kw) is saying, taking from the Holy Prophet (asws), ‘the man’s religion is according to the religion of his friends.’

So how to ask from Allah swt? Allah swt has openly said in the Quran e-Kerim, ‘seek the best means to approach Me.’ And this, in Ahli Sunnah aqidah, this, in especially, in Tarikat, this is an open statement, because the one who is closest to Allah swt, the best means to come close to Allah swt is the Holy Prophet (asws), there is no doubt in it, which the Wahhabis they hate, which now, Wahhabi-type people in Ahli Sunnah they don’t understand. They say ‘I believe in everything but I don’t believe in Tawassul. I don’t believe in Shafa’at.’ You are not going to get it, then. On the Day of Judgment, they are running, looking for the Holy Prophet (asws) to intercede for them, those ones who reject him; they are not going to get the intercession. Don’t think intercession is only for that time. Intercession is for now. At that time maybe, so many ways, our chances are finished, to change. But as long as we are here in this world, our chance is still open, for us to become better. Tonight is Bera’at, it’s a very big chance and an opening and a Mercy that Allah is giving, to say ‘change, O My servants, change. I am here to listen to you. I am here to grant any request you make.’

Seyhim

Be in proper associations. Be in associations of the Holy Prophet (asws). Be in the association of our Sheykh. What is he teaching us other than what Holy Prophet (asws) is teaching us? Because now, in an association, if you have a Sheykh, not to worry too much. In association, you never know who is that one who is most beloved to Allah swt. They are fifty people, maybe there’s one or two Friends of Allah that you don’t know, that they may be hidden, that maybe they themselves they don’t know. But because everyone is raising their hands to say ‘Amin’ he says ‘Amin’ also, and Allah’s Tajalli is on that one, everyone’s ‘Amin’ is also accepted, which Wahhabis, sheytanis, they don’t understand, they don’t like.

They say ‘don’t make group doas. Don’t say Amin together,’ because Mercy always comes that way. Mercy always comes through the hands of someone else. Because that quality of Mercy, Allah swt has given to the Holy Prophet (asws) because he is the Mercy to the universes, and in order to get that Mercy, run to those ones who are representing him. Especially in the Hanafi way, Imam makes doa. The Jamaat says Amin. And a Night like this, I would ask, me personally, I’m going to ask Sheykh Effendi to pray for me. I cannot make that prayer myself. Where is going to reach too? Who am I? Who do you think Allah swt loves most in this Jamaat? Our Sheykh. I’m going to ask him to pray for me. And I’m going to ask him whatever that is in my heart, tonight I’m going to take it out more. I am going to complain a lot about my own weakness. And I’m going to ask Allah only through my Sheykh and the Holy Prophet (asws). That way, the connection is strong and it is straight. That way, you’re going to get electricity when you plug into that socket in your wall that is alive instead of trying to lay your own cable all the way to, say, Niagara Falls to get electricity.

In the old days, people are very intelligent. They run to ask other people to pray for them. They pray, but they are running to ask other people. They say, ‘my father,’ always running to ask, ‘my father, please pray for me.’ ‘My mother,’ they are always going to say to their mother ‘pray for me.’ Their grandfather same, their teacher same, Holy People same. They are only going to run, they say ‘pray.’ These days people are very proud, people have become Firuan. But at the same time, they ask each other, ‘pray for me, brother.’ Why don’t you go to that one that Allah loves and ask? It is better.

Yes, in the Night of Bera’at like this, don’t forget your Sheykh. Connect to him, Insya’Allah. And for me, I’m going to say, first, ‘O my Sheykh, these are the ways that I have failed. I have failed in this, this and this and this and this. Help me. It is only through your help that I am able to do anything.’ Then I’m going to speak about each and every one of you. What to say? Because you’re coming to me to ask, I say, I cannot pray for you. I can only recommend you. So I’m going to say, ‘this one is like this. Help him. That one is like this. Help him. This one is like this. Help him.’ As you like. Insya’Allah. May Allah forgive me and bless you. Fatiha. Amin.

I don’t think anything I’ve said tonight is dangerous. Is it dangerous? I don’t think so. Maybe. Is there anything I’ve said tonight it’s going to make you to run to sheytan? But is there anything I’ve said tonight that is opposite to what Sheykh Effendi had said? You are free to say, I’ve said this every time I’m making a sohbet, say.  I mean, if you go behind and start slandering, that’s something else. Everyone is free, but if there is something that you want to say, say. Say something that is going to benefit you and others or else keep silent. The sign that Allah doesn’t love that servant is when he is busy with things that don’t concern him, malayani. How many times have we heard this? Every single time. May Allah save us from malayani, Insya’Allah. I’m a very dangerous person, so be careful. (Sheykh laughs). Astaghfirullah. Alhamdulillah. Astaghfirullah. If not, we will continue with the night.

Tonight, Insya’Allah, to anyone who’s watching, if it’s still nighttime, or whatever, doesn’t matter. Try not to sleep to much tonight, try to stay awake a little bit more, it’s a very big opening, very big blessing, even Nature is stopping. You came out tonight. I don’t know if you felt, there is something different, there is anticipation there. There is a quietness there. Throughout this whole evening, since we came especially, you don’t hear a single sound coming from outside. They are waiting, they are seeing. Be awake a little bit, worship, don’t be busy (on your laptop), fitnah going back and forth, I mean, if you want to be busy, who am I to say, you know? But it’s not too intelligent to do that. Sit somewhere quietly, make some prayers, open your heart Insya’Allah and that way you will start working. May Allah increase our love for our Sheykh. Fatiha. Amin. Selam Aleykum. Have a good night.

Selam Aleykum

stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2) Sheykh Lokman Efendi Hz
Khalifah of SahibulSaif Shaykh Abdulkerim el Kibrisi (qs),
OSMANLI DERGAHI- New York
15 Shaban 1438
May 10, 2017
stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)

This entry was posted in Sheykh Lokman Effendi (2017). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

