How does the Murid avoid the trap of thinking, ‘it is okay if I make mistakes, my Shaykh will cover it for me,’ and then becoming lazy?

BismillahirRahmanirRahim 

Question: How does the Murid avoid the trap of thinking, ‘it is okay if I make mistakes, my Shaykh will cover it for me,’ and then becoming lazy?

leave laziness.jpg

BismillahirRahmanirRahim. I can only speak for us and our murids and our Sheykh. That is something that is not taught in our jama’at. Zero. Never Sheykh Effendi is saying, ‘don’t worry, do whatever you want, I will cover for you.’ If anyone who is saying the opposite, if anyone says that, ‘no, Sheykh Effendi says it’s okay for you to do wrong things, he’ll cover for you,’ you let me know. You tell me. Or Sheykh Effendi, all his life he is making us to become responsible, and accountable and to say, you must carry your responsibilities. You do something wrong run to fix it, say astaghfirullah and ask for the mercy of Allah. He’s never saying, maybe other people they are saying that, definitely it’s very common, definitely they are saying and they are using that as an excuse, they are using the Sheykh as an excuse to do whatever the ego wants but they say, don’t worry, my Sheykh is going to cover for it. No, that is not right, that is not true.

Now, we may make mistakes, we all make mistakes. We are weak and when we make those mistakes, we are saying astaghfirullah. We are not saying, ‘so what?’ we are ashamed of that, and because of that we ask for the shafa’at of our Sheykh. Yes, that time you may find the intercession of your Sheykh. That is completely different. You are not using your Sheykh as an excuse to do whatever your ego is saying, and you are not liking whatever it is that you are doing, and you are running to fix it. You are running to do something good. That time it is different. But even that time, the Sheykh is never going to say, ‘don’t worry, I’ll cover you. Do whatever it is that you want to do.’ It’s not only lazy, that is wrong.

Depends on what kind of murid you want to raise. If you want to raise lazy, millennial kind of murid, thinking that you are what? Entitled. They use those word right, these days? I don’t know, I’m not millennial. Entitled. Entitled means, it is my right. They don’t do anything, but it is my right. If you ask them, they are saying, I don’t know these things, but they are saying, millennial saying, ‘hmm, I don’t go to work, I just finish college, I don’t go to work, but it is my right by the time I’m 25 I’m going to be a millionaire.’ We are saying, ‘but you are not going to work?’ ‘Don’t worry, this is my right.’ Right? Something like that. I am entitled. Meaning very lazy, very spoiled, they don’t know, they don’t struggle, they don’t work and because they see whatever that is coming to their parents they say, ‘why not it’s coming to me and even better.’

No, no, no, no. We are not raising millennial murids. We are raising old school. You work hard and there’s no guarantee you are going to be paid, because that hard work itself it is a blessing. Because to work hard, it is the sunnat of every Prophet and every Sahaba. You are going to live your life a little bit of hardship here and there. You are going to sleep on the floor. You are going to take some cold water. You are going to work. You are going to understand. We are walking on the footsteps then of the Saints and the Sahabis and the Prophets. Difficulties come, Allah is saying, with every difficulty there is going to be ease. But as murid we know that with that difficulty, you become stronger. You are asking for it to be easy but you are not running away from that difficulty. You are understanding it is actually making us to become stronger.

Your Sheykh covering for you? Well, not my Sheykh. When my Sheykh is going to cover for us? When you are really trying, you are killing yourself to do it and you cannot succeed, yes he will. When you are just sitting and you don’t try at all, that’s the time he says, ‘I will be the first to take my stick and to beat you. Forget about anyone else.’ He says, ‘I’m going to be the first one.’ Right? So, this is for you and this is for me. May Allah accept it Insya’Allah.  Al-Fatiha.

stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)Sheykh Lokman Efendi Hz
Khalifah of SahibulSaif Shaykh Abdulkerim el Kibrisi (qs),
OSMANLI DERGAHI- New York
4 Zul Qaida 1438
July 27, 2017 
stock-vector-vector-vintage-borders-54193183 (2)

 

This entry was posted in Questions and Answers, Sheykh Lokman Effendi (2017). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

